CONTEMPLATING THE CROSS

Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12:2

 

 

I must tell you thinking about the cross brings sadness to my heart. Why? The sadness that overcomes me is because the thought arises how this could happen to our loving Jesus?  Then I ask myself the question; what if I would have been on earth at that time? Would I have been a person who would have stood by the Lord our Jesus while he hangs on the cross?  As my mind wanders deep into thought my answer is yes because of what I know now. 

 

There are two areas that I would like to discuss about the cross.  First, I would like to take a deeper look at the love that poured out on the cross. God sent his only son to die for our sins as people.  The love shown here was to forgive us and to give us the opportunity to live in eternity.  Jesus’ love here represents a non-questioning action which does not need a reply nor has any strings attached. How many of us love in that manner?  The pain Jesus suffered to show love for all.  How many will suffer in this manner? Jesus projected a powerful love on the cross with respect to listening to others on the cross along with him and gave the man a place in Heaven.  Are we willing to love even in the most desperate situations?  Even when Jesus hangs on the cross he showed an un-wavering love and to honor God for he knew that his father was correct in all situations.  What about you is your love un-wavering? While Jesus was on the cross suffering through un-thinkable pain he was unifying his people. Does your love Unify? Jesus love gave life while his life was taken. Can you give life with your love?  Image being on the cross dying knowing there was only one outcome death, but even facing that bleak outcome Jesus put people before his own feelings. Is your love self centered? 

 

Another aspect of the cross that is powerful would be forgiveness. Think about all the names the Jesus was called while carrying his cross for his death.  What all the people who did not believe he was more than a good man or the people who doubted everything he said as well as how he lived his life. Think his own family did not believe he was God in the image of man.  As Jesus walked the earth he knew who he was and could have proved it in all his actions as well as everything he said, but was doubted by a large majority of the people on the earth at that time.  Think in your life what if you were treated by people as Jesus was during his time on earth could you be a forgiving person? Could you remain strong move forward with your plans in life?  The difficult, the exacerbation, the bleakness, and loneliness you would feel, could you forgive?

 

People I ask this question to all us do you think we need take up our cross or if you have, but it has gotten too heavy or even if you have dropped your cross do we need to pick it up so we can move forward on the journey?

 

    

Two others, both criminals, were led out to be executed with him.  When they came to a place called The Skull they nailed him to the cross. And the criminals were also crucified—one on his right and one on his left.

   Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they don’t know what they are doing.” And the soldiers gambled for his clothes by throwing dice. Luke 23:32-34

 

Grace and Peace to you,

Rod

Published by rulookingforjesus

I am a 52 years old married with 4 kids. I am curretly a professional soccer coach in the United States. I enjoy sports, writing, reading, running and spending time with my family. Over the years I have enjoyed knowing Jesus and now he continues to show me that I must share him with everyone. Therefore this blog is allowing a person who is very private to open up without being anything but truthful about Jesus

Leave a comment